## Minutes of The MAG Annual Group Conference held in Exeter, Saturday 28th October 2000

- 1. Conference opened at 11.15.
- 2. Trevor Baird addressed the members regarding the sad death of Joey Dunlop.
- 3. Conference stood for one minute in memory of Joey and all other MAG members that had died during the preceding year.
- 4. Officers Reports: No questions arose from the reports circulated.
- 5. Julie Stevenson (Finance Director) gave a detailed presentation of the annual accounts and answered a number of questions, some with assistance from NC colleagues. She stressed the importance of all groups contributing to the Fare Pool for the AGC and not only those groups that expected to make a profit on the scheme. The much improved membership renewal system was noted and the contribution of Henry Marks and the Central Office staff recognised.
- 6. Elections: All National Officers were returned en bloc unopposed, namely:

National Chairman - Neil F. Liversidge National Finance Officer - Julie Stevenson National Representatives Liaison Officer - Nicky Myakicheff National Clubs Liaison Officer - Debbie Jones

7. Ian Mutch was nominated as a Vice President of MAG by Neil F Liversidge, seconded by Henry Marks.

In his nomination speech Neil Liversidge paid tribute to the 28 years of unremitting hard work by Ian and asked the AGC to show their appreciation and respect for Ian by acclamation rather than by a show of hands. In response the members present rose to their feet and gave Ian a long-standing ovation with much cheering. Nich Brown (Conference Chair) pronounced Ian elected unanimously, no person there present demurring.

8. The following Directors of MAG (UK) Limited were elected:

Trevor Baird to serve until 2004 Phil Neale to serve until 2004 Nicky Myakicheff to serve until 2003

- 9. Membership fee increase: The national Chairman moved the increase proposal to £30 joint, £20 single individual with a proportionate increase to the cost of life membership. An amendment was moved to increase the cost to £27 joint £18 single. The amendment was lost 56 to 35 and the original proposal carried 59 to 20. The NC stated that its aim was to always minimise increases.
- 10. The various insurance and rescue deals were discussed.
- 11. The Bikers are Voters campaign was discussed.
- 12. The AGC broke for lunch and reconvened at 14.30
- 13. Alan Tilley delivered an excellent address explaining the strategy adopted by Sandwell Council in the West Midlands. This was very well received and Alan was presented with Honorary Life Membership in recognition of his efforts on the behalf of motorcyclists in his locality. Alan answered a number of questions relating to the Transport Plan and as to how MAG's aims can be advanced through local authorities.
- 14. Kevin Fitzpatrick gave a presentation on BikeSafe 2000 recognising MAG's initiatives in creating the scheme. Kevin is a former head of Thames Valley police's motorcycle section. 31 police forces have now signed up to BikeSafe 2000, but enforcement is still very much on the police agenda.

Nich Brown described to the conference the work done by Kevin over the last 20 years in furtherance of safer motorcycling. Kevin answered questions from a number of members regarding BikeSafe efforts around the country.

- 15. President's Address: In the absence of Dennis Howard due to public transport difficulties the address was given by newly-elected Vice president Ian Mutch, his address being typically entertaining and warmly received.
- 16. Honorary Life memberships were awarded to Lynda Pouncey, Clive Crocker, Kevan Boitoult, Geoff Eborall, James Robertson, Alan Tilley and Mark Willis.
- 17. The Freedom Award was awarded to Julie Stevenson for her work as National Treasurer.
- 18. The Steve Tannock Teamwork Award was awarded to London & Home Counties MAG Region whose magnificent fight back from the disaster of the 1998 Magna Carta was a shining example of work and responsibility to all MAG regions.
- 19. The Richard Tegg Award for individual member effort was awarded to lain Phillips and Les Gibbon jointly.

lain has long worked hard for MAG at shows and events and has been a particularly assiduous seller of raffle tickets.

Les has done outstanding political and PR work through East Yorkshire MAG for many years and in retirement continues to be one of MAG's most active workers.

- 20. The Chairman's Award was awarded to Mark Iline for his work on MAG's Internet and email facilities. Mark gave MAG 21st century communications in the 20th century and has saved MAG thousands of pounds in communication costs.
- 21. The Lifetime Achievement Award was awarded to Dennis Howard, member 001, the Founder and President of MAG and received in his absence by Owen Kristiansen.
- 22. Donations were received in the following amounts:
- 23. Rick Hulse of NABD addressed the AGC and explained the grant-assisted adoption work being undertaken by NABD to keep injured and disabled bikers on the road. Rick stated that MAG's own existence made NABD possible and that the link with MAG was absolutely vital to NABD.

NABD is now campaigning to have bikes and trikes made available through the Motability scheme, and to have bull bars banned. The NABD rally will be held on the second weekend in May each year in future.

24. The National Chairman closed the conference with the customary vote of thanks to all concerned.