Date set for parliamentary debate on anti-tamper proposals.

Anti-tamper parliamentary debate

A date has been set for a parliamentary debate on the anti-tamper proposals from last year. The Motorcycle Action Group (MAG) is urging its members to respond to a short Government survey to inform Nick Fletcher MP who will be leading the debate.

Proposals for anti-tampering regulations brought a substantial backlash late last year.  A petition was raised opposing the proposals, which received well over the 100,000 signatories bar to trigger a parliamentary debate.


The debate will take place on 25th April 2022.  It will be led by Nick Fletcher MP and a minister from the Department for Transport (DfT) will respond for the Government.


A short survey has been launched as part of the process to inform Nick Fletcher of the reasons for the strong objections to the proposals.  MAG is recommending that all riders take the opportunity to respond to the Petitions Committee’s survey here:  The survey will remain open until 9am on Monday 11 April.  You do not need to have signed the petition to complete the survey.


MAG also recommends that riders contact their local MPs to ask them to speak at the debate on 25th April.


MAG Director of Campaigns & Political Engagement, Colin Brown, said:

“This is another opportunity to explain your objections to these proposed regulations.  We are keen to keep the pressure on to ensure that common sense prevails, and that the proposals are at the very least re-drafted if not entirely rejected.  If you value the right to modify your motorcycle in any way you see fit, then please respond to the survey and lobby your representative in Parliament.”


To inform the debate, Nick Fletcher would like to hear views on the Government’s plans, and what else they should be doing on this issue.

Share your views by completing this short survey:

Responses will be anonymous. A summary of responses will be shared with Nick and other MPs, and may be referred to in the debate. It will also be published on the Committee’s website here: